Board Members 2018-11-14T12:28:06+00:00

Groote Schuur Board Members

Members of the Board are drawn from the hospital leadership and staff; the university’s Faculty of Health Sciences as its academic partner; and the community at large which it serves.

In addition, persons with expertise may be nominated by peers and appointed by the Member of the Executive Committee (MEC) for the Provincial Government of the Western Cape.

  • Dr Z Brey – Chair
  • Rev M Magadla – Vice-chair
  • Dr B Patel – Head of Institution
  • Prof AW Barday
  • Mrs A Bezuidenhout
  • Prof E Coetzee
  • Prof G Fieggen
  • Mr H Kajie
  • Mr TJ Ledwaba CA (SA)
  • Mrs N Mia
  • Mr L Naidoo
  • Dr I Ntatamala
  • Mr S Parker
  • Prof W Spearman
  • Dr J Werner


  • Support the hospital in all its spheres
  • Support patients with transport costs, personal items and food parcels where appropriate
  • Oversee volunteers who contribute to the operations of the Facility Board
  • Manage on site income generating projects such as parking, food outlets, used book sales and hairdresser
  • Manage donations and bequests